Timbers announce additional national broadcasts, changes to schedule

Timbers announce changes to schedule

Timbers Soccer Ball at 2011 SuperDraft

Photo Credit: 
(Getty Images)

PORTLAND, Ore. – The Portland Timbers announced today that five additional matches will be broadcast nationally on Fox Soccer Channel (FSC) in 2011. In conjunction, the Timbers today announced changes to the team’s 2011 Major League Soccer (MLS) schedule.

The Timbers’ home matches against the Philadelphia Union, Vancouver Whitecaps FC and New England Revolution, as well as away tilts with the Colorado Rapids and LA Galaxy, have been added to FSC’s MLS lineup, which includes a total of 31 live broadcasts during the 2011 season.

Two games underwent date changes. The Timbers’ home game against Philadelphia has been moved up one day to Friday, May 6, at 7:30 p.m. (Pacific Time) and will be televised live by FSC; it was originally scheduled for Saturday, May 7.

The team’s away match against Chivas USA moved to Saturday, June 4, at 7:30 p.m. (PT), after it was originally scheduled to be played on Sunday, June 5.

Three games have received changes to their start times, including the away match against the LA Galaxy on Saturday, April 23, which is now at 8 p.m. (PT) and will be televised live by FSC. The Timbers’ home game against New England on Friday, Sept. 16, is now an 8 p.m. (PT) start, with FSC picking up the telecast. Also, the team’s final Cascadia Cup match of the season, a road tilt against Canadian rivals Vancouveron Sunday, Oct. 2, has been moved to 1:30 p.m. (PT), and will be broadcast on TSN2 in Canada.

FSC also scheduled live broadcasts for two more Timbers matches, including the first game in the history of the MLS franchise on Saturday, March 19, at 6 p.m. (PT) on the road against Colorado, and the club’s home match against Vancouver on Saturday, Aug. 20, at 7 p.m. (PT).

In all, five Timbers games will appear live on FSC this season, bringing the total of nationally televised games to eight. MLS had previously announced that ESPN will broadcast the Timbers’ home match against Seattle Sounders FC on Sunday, July 10 at 2 p.m. (PT) and that ESPN2 will air the team’s home opener on Thursday, April 14, at 8 p.m. (PT) against the Chicago Fire, as well as Portland’s away match against Seattle on Saturday, May 14, at 8 p.m. (PT).

Additional broadcast information will be released at a later date.

2011 Portland Timbers Schedule (home matches in bold, CAPS)

Date

Opponent

Time (PT)

TV

 

Sat., Mar 19

at Colorado*

6 p.m.

FSC, Local TV

 

Sat., Mar 26

at Toronto FC

11 a.m.

TSN, Local TV

 

Sat., Apr 2

at New England

4:30 p.m.

Local TV

 

Thu., Apr 14

CHICAGO

8 p.m.

ESPN2

 

Sun., Apr 17

FC DALLAS

3 p.m.

Local TV

 

Sat., Apr 23

at LA Galaxy**

8 p.m.

FSC

 

Sat., Apr 30

REAL SALT LAKE

7:30 p.m.

Local TV

 

Fri., May 6

PHILADELPHIA***

7:30 p.m.

FSC

 

Sat., May 14

at Seattle

8 p.m.

ESPN2

 

Sat., May 21

COLUMBUS

7:30 p.m.

Local TV

 

Sun., May 29

D.C. UNITED

2 p.m.

Local TV

 

Sat., Jun 4

at Chivas USA***

7:30 p.m.

Local TV

 

Sat., Jun 11

COLORADO

7:30 p.m.

Gala, Local TV

 

Sun., Jun 19

NEW YORK

4 p.m.

Gala, Local TV

 

Sat., Jun 25

at FC Dallas

5:30 p.m.

Local TV

 

Sat., Jul 2

SPORTING KANSAS CITY

8 p.m.

Local TV

 

Sun., Jul 10

SEATTLE

2 p.m.

ESPN

 

Sat., Jul 16

at Chicago

5:30 p.m.

Local TV

 

Sat., Jul 23

at Columbus

5 p.m.

Local TV

 

Sat., Jul 30

TORONTO FC

8 p.m.

Local TV

 

Wed., Aug 3

LA GALAXY

8 p.m.

Local TV

 

Sat., Aug 6

at San Jose

7:30 p.m.

Local TV

 

Sun., Aug 14

at Houston

6 p.m.

Gala, Local TV

 

Wed., Aug 17

at Sporting Kansas City

5:30 p.m.

Local TV

 

Sat., Aug 20

VANCOUVER*

7 p.m.

FSC, TSN

 

Wed., Aug 24

CHIVAS USA

8 p.m.

Local TV

 

Sat., Aug 27

at D.C. United

4:30 p.m.

Local TV

 

Sat., Sep 10

at Philadelphia

4:30 p.m.

Local TV

 

Fri., Sep 16

NEW ENGLAND**

8 p.m.

FSC

 

Wed., Sep 21

SAN JOSE

7:30 p.m.

Local TV

 

Sat., Sep 24

at New York

4:30 p.m.

Local TV

 

Sun., Oct 2

at Vancouver**

1:30 p.m.

TSN2, Local TV

 

Fri., Oct 14

HOUSTON

7:30 p.m.

Local TV

 

Sat., Oct 22

at Real Salt Lake

6 p.m.

Local TV

 


(dates and times subject to change)

* - TV change
** - time change
*** - date change

Information on exhibition matches will be released at a later date.

Individual tickets for Timbers regular-season games will go on sale mid-March, with further details to come.


-- visit www.portlandtimbers.com --