Timbers Announce 2011 MLS Reserve Division Schedule

Club’s reserves to play a 10-game season against regional opponents

2011 Training Ball

Photo Credit: 
Photo by Craig Mitchelldyer

PORTLAND, Ore. — The Portland Timbers today released the club’s 2011 Major League Soccer Reserve Division schedule. The Reserve Division season will consist of a 10-game regular season against five regional opponents.

Under the direction of Timbers assistant coach Amos Magee, the Timbers Reserves will play the reserve teams for Chivas USA, LA Galaxy, San Jose Earthquakes, Seattle Sounders FC and Vancouver Whitecaps FC twice – once at home and once away. Reserve matches will take place the day after the first teams play or during the middle of that game week.

For the Reserve Division, MLS’ 18 clubs have been split into three regions consisting of six teams each. The best eight teams in the Reserve Division will advance to the playoffs, which will determine a champion.

In addition to participating in the Reserve Division, MLS reserve squads may also schedule matches against other teams, including NASL or USL-Pro clubs.

Portland Timbers 2011 Reserve Division Schedule

DATE

OPPONENT

LOCATION

TIME

Sunday, April 24

@ LA Galaxy Reserves

The Home Depot Center

12 noon

Sunday, May 15

@ Seattle Sounders Reserves

Starfire Sports Complex

11 a.m.

Monday, May 30

vs. Seattle Sounders Reserves

JELD-WEN Field

2 p.m.

Sunday, June 5

@ Chivas USA Reserves

The Home Depot Center

11 a.m.

Tuesday, June 21

vs. San Jose Earthquakes Reserves

JELD-WEN Field

11 a.m.

Sunday, Aug. 7

@ San Jose Earthquakes Reserves

TBD

11 a.m.

Sunday, Aug. 21

vs. Vancouver Whitecaps Reserves

JELD-WEN Field

12 noon

Saturday, Sept. 3

vs. LA Galaxy Reserves

TBD

TBD

Tuesday, Sept. 27

vs. Chivas USA Reserves

JELD-WEN Field

11 a.m.

Monday, Oct. 3

@ Vancouver Whitecaps Reserves

TBD

11 a.m.