Timbers announce complete broadcast schedule for 2013 season

Club to have every regular-season match broadcast on TV, radio

PORTLAND, Ore. – The Portland Timbers today announced their complete television and radio broadcast schedule for the 2013 Major League Soccer season. Including 11 nationally televised matches, all 34 of the Timbers’ regular-season matches will be broadcast live both on television and radio for a third straight season in 2013.

Timbers broadcast partners ROOT SPORTS and KPTV FOX 12 will again air the club’s regional and local television broadcasts, respectively, this season, with select matches continuing to be televised in Spanish on EstrellaTV.

In 2013, ROOT SPORTS will deliver 15 matches across the Northwest region to cable and satellite homes in Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana and Alaska. Eight matches will be featured over the air locally on FOX 12 or sister-station PDX TV (KPDX) during the season. The matches originating on FOX 12 will also be carried on the Portland Timbers Television Network and air in the Oregon markets of Eugene (KEVU/MyNetworkTV) and Medford (KFBI/My 48).

FOX 12 is the home of the Timbers’ weekly show, “Timbers in 30,” which will air each Friday during the season at 6:30 p.m. (Pacific) starting on March 1. The show features exclusive, inside access, showing the club’s inner-workings and personalities as well as provides team and game analysis with in-studio appearances from Timbers coaches and players each week.

750 The Game (KXTG) and La Pantera 940 AM (KWBY) continue to serve as the flagship stations for the club’s English and Spanish radio broadcasts, respectively. Every regular-season match will air on 750 The Game with the exception of four matches in the fall, which will air on sister-station Freedom 970 (KUFO).

In addition to match broadcasts, 750 The Game airs the Timbers’ weekly, two-hour talk show, “Talk Timbers,” each Tuesday night from 6-8 p.m. “Talk Timbers” features interviews with coaches, players and club representatives and covers both Timbers and MLS news.

Additionally, the kickoff times for three of the Timbers away matches against Cascadia rivals Vancouver Whitecaps FC and Seattle Sounders FC have been finalized. The kickoff time at Seattle on Saturday, March 16 is set for 5 p.m. (Pacific) on NBC Sports Network. Portland will play at Vancouver on Saturday, May 18, at 4 p.m. (Pacific) and Sunday, Oct. 6, at 5 p.m. (Pacific).

2013 Portland Timbers Schedule (home matches in bold, CAPS)

 

Date

Opponent

Kickoff (Pacific)

Television

Sunday, March 3

NEW YORK RED BULLS

4:30 p.m.

ESPN2

Saturday, March 9

MONTREAL IMPACT

7:30 p.m.

FOX 12 (KPTV)

Saturday, March 16

@Seattle Sounders FC

5 p.m.

NBC Sports Network

Saturday, March 30

@Colorado Rapids

3 p.m.

ROOT SPORTS

Saturday, April 6

HOUSTON DYNAMO

7:30 p.m.

ROOT SPORTS

Sunday, April 14

SAN JOSE EARTHQUAKES

7:30 p.m. 

NBC Sports Network

Sunday, April 21

@San Jose Earthquakes

8 p.m.

ROOT SPORTS

Saturday, April 27

@Sporting Kansas City

5:30 p.m.

PDX TV (KPDX)

Thursday, May 2

NEW ENGLAND REVOLUTION

7:30 p.m.

ROOT SPORTS

Wednesday, May 8

@FC Dallas

6 p.m.

ROOT SPORTS

Sunday, May 12

CHIVAS USA

3 p.m.

FOX 12 (KPTV)

Saturday, May 18

@Vancouver Whitecaps FC

4 p.m.

ROOT SPORTS

Saturday, May 25

@D.C. United

4 p.m.

ROOT SPORTS

Saturday, June 8

@Chicago Fire

5:30 p.m.

PDX TV (KPDX)

Saturday, June 15

FC DALLAS

2 p.m.

ESPN

Wednesday, June 19

@LA Galaxy

7:30 p.m.

FOX 12 (KPTV)

Sunday, June 23

COLORADO RAPIDS

4 p.m.

NBC Sports Network

Sunday, July 7

@Columbus Crew

2 p.m.

ROOT SPORTS

Saturday, July 13

LA GALAXY

8 p.m.

NBC Sports Network

Saturday, July 20

@Philadelphia Union

4:30 p.m.

PDX TV (KPDX)

Saturday, July 27

@San Jose Earthquakes

7:30 p.m.

ROOT SPORTS

Saturday, Aug. 3

VANCOUVER WHITECAPS FC

8 p.m.

ROOT SPORTS

Saturday, Aug. 17

FC DALLAS

8 p.m.

FOX 12 (KPTV)

Wednesday, Aug. 21

REAL SALT LAKE

8 p.m.

ROOT SPORTS

Sunday, Aug. 25

@Seattle Sounders FC

7 p.m.

ESPN2

Friday, Aug. 30

@Real Salt Lake

7 p.m.

NBC Sports Network

Saturday, Sept. 7

TORONTO FC

8 p.m.

FOX 12 (KPTV)

Saturday, Sept. 14

@Chivas USA

7:30 p.m.

ROOT SPORTS

Friday, Sept. 20

COLORADO RAPIDS

7 p.m.

NBC Sports Network

Sunday, Sept. 29

LA GALAXY

12:30 p.m.

NBC

Sunday, Oct. 6

@Vancouver Whitecaps FC

5 p.m.

ROOT SPORTS

Sunday, Oct. 13

SEATTLE SOUNDERS FC

6 p.m.

ESPN

Saturday, Oct. 19

REAL SALT LAKE

7:30 p.m.

ROOT SPORTS

Saturday, Oct. 26

@Chivas USA

7:30 p.m.

ROOT SPORTS