Portland Thorns FC's Alex Morgan, Christine Sinclair and Cindy Parlow Cone among nominees on FIFA’s 2013 awards ballot

Morgan & Sinclair on shortlist for Ballon d'Or, Cone a nominee for World Coach of the Year

FIFA Ballon d'Or

Photo Credit: 
Photos by Craig Mitchelldyer

National Women’s Soccer League champion Portland Thorns FC landed three representatives on FIFA’s awards ballot, which was announced today.

Forward Alex Morgan and Christine Sinclair, who each helped guide Thorns FC to the inaugural NWSL championship with eight goals apiece during the regular season, were named to the 10-player shortlist for 2013 FIFA Women’s Ballon d'Or given to the best women's player of the year. U.S. Women’s National Team forward and Western New York Flash star Abby Wambach claimed the award in 2012.

On the international level, Morgan has tallied six goals and four assists in 11 games for the United States. Her 16 points in 2013 ranks second on the U.S. Women’s National Team behind forward Sydney Leroux (18). The United States plays three more games between Oct. 27 and Nov. 10 (twice against New Zealand, Oct. 27 and Oct. 30; and against Brazil on Nov. 10).

Sinclair, who tallied a stoppage-time insurance goal for Thorns FC in a 2-0 win over Western New York in the NWSL championship game on Aug. 31 off an assist from Morgan, has scored two goals in seven appearances for Canada in 2013. The Canada Women’s National Team faces Korea Republic on Oct. 30 in Edmonton and Mexico on Nov. 24 in Vancouver.

Along with Morgan and Sinclair, Thorns FC head coach Cindy Parlow Cone was named to the 10-coach list for the 2013 FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women’s Football. Cone, a former standout for the U.S. Women’s National Team as a player, stepped into her first professional coaching role in 2013 at the helm of Thorns FC and guided the team to an 11-6-5 record during the regular season before winning back-to-back road playoff games to lift the championship trophy.

In early December, FIFA and France Football will announce the names of the three women and three men, as well as the three coaches for women’s football and three coaches for men’s football, who have received the most votes (without unveiling the winners). 

2013 FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year nominees (in alphabetical order): Nadine Angerer (Germany), Nilla Fischer (Sweden), Lena Goessling (Germany), Saki Kumagai (Japan), Marta (Brazil), Alex Morgan (USA), Yuki Ogimi (Japan), Lotta Schelin (Sweden), Christine Sinclair (Canada), Abby Wambach (USA).

2013 FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women’s Football (in alphabetical order): Gilles Eyquem (France/France U-19 National Team), Kenneth Heiner-Møller (Denmark/Denmark National Team), Ralf Kellermann (Germany/VfL Wolfsburg), Shelley Kerr (Scotland/Arsenal Ladies FC), Patrice Lair (France/Olympique Lyonnais), Silvia Neid (Germany/ Germany National Team), Cindy Parlow Cone (USA/Portland Thorns FC), Even Pellerud (Norway/Norway National Team), Anna Signeul (Sweden/Scotland National Team), Pia Sundhage (Sweden/Sweden National Team).