Thorns fans, 2.28.17
Photo by Craig Mitchelldyer

Thorns FC announce schedule for 2017 NWSL Season

PORTLAND, Ore. – The National Women’s Soccer League today unveiled the full 24-game, 2017 regular-season schedule for Portland Thorns FC. Thorns FC open the 2017 season against the Orlando Pride on Saturday, April 15, at Providence Park; kickoff is set for 12 noon (Pacific) and features the first-ever NWSL Game of the Week on Lifetime.

Single-game tickets for the 2017 season go on sale March 15 at 10 a.m. (Pacific) and will be available online at thornsfc.com, at the Providence Park box office or by calling (888) 736-6849. A presale will take place March 14 for Thorns FC Annual Membership holders with more details to follow.

Thorns FC will play 12 home matches and 12 away matches during the six-month season. The 10-team league features a single table and Thorns FC will play an unbalanced schedule, featuring three meetings each with six of the nine teams and home and away meetings with the North Carolina Courage, Orlando and Sky Blue FC.

Portland opens the season with three of its first four games at home, playing host to the Chicago Red Stars on April 29, and squaring off in its only regular-season meeting of the campaign at Providence Park against Reign FC on May 6. Thorns FC will travel to Seattle for matches on July 1 and Aug. 26 at Memorial Stadium.

The NWSL will observe international FIFA dates three times during the season as players return to their national teams to compete during the weekends of June 10-11, July 29-30 and Sept. 16-17. 

Fans interested in purchasing Thorns FC Annual Memberships are encouraged to call the ticket office at (503) 553-5555 or email ticketsales@timbers.com. Additionally, single-game tickets for the Thorns Spring Invitational presented by Tillamook March 26-April 1 at Providence Park are available online at thornsfc.com. Tickets for the tournament are included in Thorns FC Annual Memberships.

Thorns FC begin preseason training camp for their fifth NWSL season on March 13.

Schedule Breakdown:
Home Dates by Day of the Week:
Wednesday (1), Saturday (11)

Road Dates by Day of the Week:
Wednesday (1), Friday (1), Saturday (9), Sunday (1)

Home Dates by Month:
April (2), May (2), June (2), July (2), August (2), September (2)

Road Dates by Month:
April (1), May (2), June (2), July (2), August (3), September (2)

League Opponents Played Twice at Home:
Chicago Red Stars, Houston Dash, Washington Spirit

League  Opponents Played Twice Away:
Boston Breakers, FC Kansas City, Seattle Reign FC

League Opponents Played Once at Home: 
Boston Breakers, FC Kansas City, North Carolina Courage, Orlando Pride, Seattle Reign FC, Sky Blue FC

League Opponents Played Once Away: 
Chicago Red Stars, Houston Dash, North Carolina Courage, Orlando Pride, Sky Blue FC, Washington Spirit

2017 Portland Thorns FC Schedule (home matches in bold, CAPS)

Date

Opponent

Kickoff (Pacific)

Sat., April 15

ORLANDO PRIDE

12 noon

Sat., April 22

@North Carolina Courage

4:30 p.m.

Sat., April 29

CHICAGO RED STARS

1 p.m.

Sat., May 6

SEATTLE REIGN FC

7 p.m.

Sat., May 13

@FC Kansas City

5 p.m. 

Fri., May 19

@Boston Breakers

4 p.m.

Sat., May 27

BOSTON BREAKERS

7 p.m.

Sat., June 3

@Sky Blue FC

4 p.m.

Sat., June 17

SKY BLUE FC

7 p.m.

Sat., June 24

@Washington Spirit

4 p.m.

Wed., June 28

FC KANSAS CITY

7 p.m.

Sat., July 1

@Seattle Reign FC

7 p.m.

Sat., July 8

@Houston Dash

5:30 p.m.

Sat., July 15

NORTH CAROLINA COURAGE

1 p.m.

Sat., July 22

WASHINGTON SPIRIT

7 p.m.

Sat., Aug. 5

HOUSTON DASH

1 p.m.

Sat., Aug. 12

@Chicago Red Stars

5 p.m.

Wed., Aug. 16

@FC Kansas City

5 p.m.

Sat., Aug. 19

HOUSTON DASH

7 p.m.

Sat., Aug. 26

@Seattle Reign FC

1 p.m.

Sat., Sept. 2

WASHINGTON SPIRIT

1 p.m.

Sun., Sept. 10

@Boston Breakers

3 p.m.

Sat., Sept. 23

@Orlando Pride

2 p.m.

Sat., Sept. 30

CHICAGO RED STARS

1 p.m.

Series: 
Topics: