Merlo Field crowd, 1.26.15
Photo by David Blair

T2 announce schedule for 2016 USL season

PORTLAND, Ore. – T2 will play host to Cascadia rival Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2 in the team’s home opener of the 2016 USL season on Saturday, April 2, at 7 p.m. (Pacific), it was announced today as USL unveiled the full 30-game, 2016 regular-season schedule for T2.

After opening the season on the road against expansion side Swope Park Rangers on March 26, T2 begin a three-game homestand April 2 against Cascadia rival Vancouver Whitecaps FC before playing host to expansion side Rio Grande Valley FC (April 8), and Sacramento Republic FC (April 17).



Of Portland’s 15 home matches during the 2016 season, 11 will be played at Merlo Field, while matches against Real Monarchs SLC on May 7 and Seattle Sounders FC 2 on May 26 will be played at Providence Park in downtown Portland. In addition, T2 will play games on May 21 against Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2 and June 4 against Swope Park Rangers at an out-of-market venue with details to be announced at a later date.

Season tickets, starting at $8 per game, for T2 home matches are now on sale at www.timbers2.com or by calling (503) 553-5555. Tickets for the two games to be played out of market will not be included in the season ticket package in 2016. Ticket information for those games will be announced at a later date.

Contesting an unbalanced, conference-based schedule, T2 will square off against Cascadia-rivals Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2 and Seattle Sounders FC 2 four times each during the 2016 regular season. Facing Sounders FC 2 on the road on July 24 and Aug. 29, T2 play host to Seattle on May 26 and June 14. Whitecaps FC 2 visit Portland for a match on April 2, while T2 and Vancouver will meet on May 21 at an out-of-market venue. T2 travel to Vancouver for matches on June 19 and Sept. 18.

Portland’s schedule also features six matches against expansion sides, including home matches against Rio Grande Valley FC, the Houston Dynamo’s USL affiliate, on April 8, and San Antonio on June 11 as well as a match at an out-of-market venue against Swope Park Rangers, Sporting Kansas City’s USL affiliate, on June 4.

T2 play home matches on six different days of the week this season, including 11 weekend fixtures. In addition to playing seven Saturday home games, T2 play host to one Friday and three Sunday games.

Following a three-game road swing, Portland closes out the 2016 regular season at home against Arizona United SC on Sept. 24.

All T2 matches will be broadcast via a live web stream on www.timbers2.com.

Schedule Breakdown:
Home Dates by Day of the Week:
Tuesday (1), Wednesday (1), Thursday (2), Friday (1), Saturday (7), Sunday (3)

Road Dates by Day of the Week:
Monday (1), Tuesday (1), Wednesday (2), Friday (1), Saturday (7), Sunday (3)

Home Dates by Month:
April (3), May (3), June (3), July (2), August (2), September (2)

Road Dates by Month:
March (1), April (3), May (1), June (2), July (1), August (4), September (3)

Western Conference Opponents Played Twice at Home:
Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC, Seattle Sounders FC 2, Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2

Western Conference Opponents Played Once at Home:
Arizona United SC, LA Galaxy II, OKC Energy FC, Orange County Blues SC, Real Monarchs SLC, Rio Grande Valley FC, San Antonio, Sacramento Republic FC, Swope Park Rangers


Western Conference Opponents Played Twice Away:
Arizona United SC, Seattle Sounders SC 2, Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2

Western Conference Opponents Played Once Away:
Colorado Springs Switchbacks, LA Galaxy II, Orange County Blues FC, Real Monarchs SLC, Rio Grande Valley FC, Sacramento Republic FC, Saint Louis FC, Swope Park Rangers, Tulsa Roughnecks FC

2016 T2 Schedule (home matches in bold, CAPS)

Date

Opponent

Kickoff (PT)

Saturday, March 26

@Swope Park Rangers

5:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 2

VANCOUVER WHITECAPS FC 2

7 p.m.

Friday, April 8

RIO GRANDE VALLEY FC

7 p.m.

Sunday, April 17

SACRAMENTO REPUBLIC FC

2 p.m.

Wednesday, April 20

@Orange County Blues FC

7 p.m.

Saturday, April 23

@Tulsa Roughnecks FC

5 p.m.

Saturday, April 30

@Arizona United SC

7:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 7*

REAL MONARCHS SLC

2 p.m.

Friday, May 13

@Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC

6 p.m.

Saturday, May 21#

VANCOUVER WHITECAPS FC 2

TBD

Thursday, May 26*

SEATTLE SOUNDERS FC 2

7 p.m.

Saturday, June 4#

SWOPE PARK RANGERS

TBD

Saturday, June 11

SAN ANTONIO

7 p.m.

Tuesday, June 14

SEATTLE SOUNDERS FC 2

7 p.m.

Sunday, June 19

@Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2

2 p.m.

Saturday, June 25

@Saint Louis FC

5:30 p.m.

Thursday, July 7

COLORADO SPRINGS SWITCHBACKS FC

7 p.m.

Saturday, July 16

LA GALAXY II

2 p.m.

Sunday, July 24

@Seattle Sounders FC 2

5 p.m.

Wednesday, Aug. 3

COLORADO SPRINGS SWITCHBACKS FC

7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 6

@LA Galaxy II

7:30 p.m.

Sunday, Aug. 14

ORANGE COUNTY BLUES FC

2 p.m.

Wednesday, Aug. 17

@Real Monarchs SLC

6 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 20

@Sacramento Republic FC

8 p.m.

Monday, Aug. 29

@Seattle Sounders FC 2

7:30 p.m.

Sunday, Sept. 4

OKC ENERGY FC

2 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 10

@Rio Grande Valley FC

5:30 p.m.

Tuesday, Sept. 13

@Arizona United SC

7:30 p.m.

Sunday, Sept. 18

@Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2

2 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 24

ARIZONA UNITED SC

7 p.m.

 

*Match to be played at Providence Park
#Match in bold, italics to be played at out-of-market venue

Series: 
Topics: