2017 Thorns Euros, 7.14.17
Photo by Craig Mitchelldyer

2017 Women's Euros | Thorns FC's Nadia Nadim, Amandine Henry and Dagny Brynjarsdottir set for tournament

The UEFA European Women’s Championship kicks off next week in the Netherlands, and three members of Portland Thorns FC will be vying with their respective teams for their first ever EURO title. 

Nadia Nadim and Denmark will begin tournament play when they face Belgium in Doetinchem on July 16, while Amandine Henry and Dagný Brynjarsdóttir face off on July 18, when France takes on Iceland in Tilburg. 2017 will mark Nadim and Henry's third EURO tournament (2009, 2013) and Dagny's second (2013).

Iceland and France were each eliminated in the 2013 quarterfinals–France, via PK shootout with Denmark–while Nadim’s Denmark fell to Norway in the next round, also via PK shootout. However, Dagný Brynjarsdóttir's header against the Netherlands in 2013 took her into the final eight with Iceland's first-ever finals victory.

Germany has dominated the competition winning eight of the last nine events, including their sixth in a row in 2013. Nadine Angerer was nominated as 2013's player of the tournament and was named to the all-star squad with five of her German teammates. Only two other countries have won the quadrennial tournament in its thirty-three-year history: Norway (1987, 1993) and Sweden (1984).

Iceland will take on France (July 18, 11:45am PT, ESPN3), Switzerland (July 22, 9am PTESPN3) and Austria (July 26, 11:45am PT, ESPN3), while Denmark is set to play Belgium (July 16, 11:45am PT, ESPN3), Netherlands (July 20, 11:45am PT, ESPN3) and Norway (July 24, 11:45am PTESPN3) in the group stage. France will match up against Iceland (July 18, 11:45am PT, ESPN3), Austria (July 22, 11:45am PT, ESPN3) and Switzerland (July 26, 11:45am PT, ESPN3).

Group A Netherlands Norway Denmark Belgium
Group B Germany Sweden Italy Russia
Group C France Iceland Austria Switzerland
Group D England Scotland Spain Portugal

Games begin on July 16 with the group stage ending on July 27. The top two teams from each group will progress to the knockout stage--commencing with the quarter-finals--and the final will take place August 6, in Enschede. All games up to the final will be streamed via ESPN3, with the final televised on ESPNU.