Four Portland Timbers players named to MLS is Back Tournament Best XI

Tournament Best XI, 8.13.20

PORTLAND, Ore. – Major League Soccer today announced that Portland Timbers’ midfielders Sebastián Blanco and Diego Chara, forward Jeremy Ebobisse and defender Larrys Mabiala have been named to the MLS is Back Tournament Best XI presented by BODYARMOR, with the tournament champions having the most players of any club represented in the Best XI.

Blanco, who was named MLS is Back Player of the Tournament presented by adidas, was directly involved in eight of the Timbers’ 14 goals in their championship run. His five assists were tied for the most in the tournament and his three goals were tied for sixth most in the competition. He was the only player to finish the tournament with three or more goals and five or more assists. 

Chara was one of three Portland players to start all seven matches in the tournament and one of two players to play every minute (630) in the competition for the club. Among all players, he was the only forward or midfielder to play all 630 minutes. Notably, Chara made his 300th appearance with the Timbers in all competitions during the tournament, which ranks as the most in club history.

Ebobisse scored a team-best four goals, which was tied for third most in the tournament, and registered an assist on Dario Zuparic’s game-winning goal in the MLS is Back Tournament Final against Orlando City SC on Aug. 11. He appeared in all seven matches, making six starts for Portland in the competition. 

Mabiala started and played a full 90 minutes in six of Portland’s seven matches in the MLS is Back Tournament. The defender assisted on the game-winning goal in the Timbers 2-1 victory over the Houston Dynamo on July 18 before scoring a goal in the club’s 2-1 win against Orlando City in the MLS is Back Tournament Final.

MLS is Back Tournament Best XI presented by BODYARMOR

Goalkeeper: Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union)

Defenders: Larrys Mabiala (Portland Timbers), Mark McKenzie (Philadelphia Union), João Moutinho (Orlando City SC), Ruan (Orlando City SC)

Midfielders: Brenden Aaronson (Philadelphia Union), Sebastián Blanco (Portland Timbers), Diego Chara (Portland Timbers)

Forwards:Jeremy Ebobisse (Portland Timbers), Nani (Orlando City SC), Diego Rossi (Los Angeles Football Club)