20201228 sinclair
Kayla Knapp-Portland Thorns FC

Christine Sinclair named Canadian Press Female Athlete of 2020

Christine Sinclair has been named the Canadian Press’s Female Athlete of the Year. The organization honored the Portland Thorns FC captain today with her second Bobbie Rosenfeld Award.

The Rosenfeld Award has been given annually since 1932 and is voted on by the sportswriters of the CP. Sinclair previously won the award in 2012 after her performance at the Summer Olympics in London.

Sinclair won her second honor nearly 12 months after becoming international soccer’s all-time leader in goals. Scoring her 184th and 185th international goals against St. Kitts and Nevis on January 29, 2020, Sinclair passed retired United States international Abby Wambach. Later in 2020, Sinclair added her 186th international goal.

Recent winners of the Rosenfeld Award include U.S. Open singles tennis champion Bianca Andreescu, LPGA standout Brooke Henderson, and 2016 Olympic swimming gold medalist Penny Oleksiak.

Kadeisha Buchanan, Sinclair’s teammate with the Canadian national team, finished second in this year’s voting, with WNBA star Kia Nurse, speedskater Kim Boutin and Henderson also finishing in the poll’s top five.

MORE: 2020 and Christine Sinclair