Gregor PK helps Timbers to 1-0 win in Montreal

MONTREAL, Que. – Forward Bryan Jordan drew a foul in the box to set up the game-winning goal, a penalty kick in the 75th minute, by midfielder Andrew Gregor as the Portland Timbers defeated the Montreal Impact 1-0 at Claude Robillard Sports Complex in Montreal.
Goalkeeper Josh Wicks and the Timbers (4-1-2, 14pts) defense logged their fourth consecutive shutout of the season and set a new modern franchise record having played 378 minutes without allowing a goal. The previous record was 362 minutes of shut-out play set in 2004 by former Timber Josh Saunders.
Gregor scored his fifth goal of the season in the 75th minute on a penalty kick after Jordan was fouled in the box. Calmly approaching the ball, Gregor slotted his shot past Montreal goalkeeper Matt Jordan to hand the Impact (4-1-4, 16pts) their first loss of the season.
With the win, the Timbers moved into a two-way tie for fifth in the USL First Division with the Carolina RailHawks (3-2-5, 14pts) and picked up their first road victory of the season.  
Wicks recorded seven saves on the night including a diving save in the 7th minute on a shot by Impact forward Fred Moojen. Montreal midfielder Leonardo Di Lorenzo had four shots on the night.
Montreal out shot the Timbers 15-4 and it was the second half before the Timbers recorded their first shot of the night. Montreal took eight shots in the second half, a majority of those coming late in the match after the Timbers had taken the lead.
The Impact were without the services of starting defender Gabriel Gervais and midfielder Antonio Ribiero who are currently competing in the CONCACAF Gold Cup with the Canadian National Team.
The Timbers conclude their two-game road trip on Saturday against the Rochester Raging Rhinos at PAETEC Park; kickoff is scheduled for 4:35 p.m. The match can be heard live at with broadcaster Andy McNamara calling the action.
Line ups:
POR – GK Wicks, D Knowles, D J. Thompson, D S. Thompson, D Griffin, M Lara, M Poltl (Taylor, 67), M Dombrowski (Morrison, 85), M Gregor (Higgins, 77), M Kreamalmeyer (Jordan, 67), M Bagley (Olum, 88)
MON – GK Jordan, D Vicello, D Arango, D Fronimadis (Matondo, 72), D Gatti (Aaboubou, 89), M Leduc, M Di Lorenzo, M Fabro, M Palleschi (Roberto, 81), F Moojen, F Gbeke
Scoring Summary:
POR: Gregor (PK), 75