Wilkinson earns FieldTurf Coach of the Year

PORTLAND, Ore. – Portland Timbers head coach Gavin Wilkinson was named the 2009 FieldTurf Coach of the Year for the USL First Division, it was announced today at the fourth annual FieldTurf Soccer Awards. It is his second FieldTurf Coach of the Year honor.

FieldTurf unveiled its award-winners for the 2009 soccer season as part of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) convention in Philadelphia, Pa. Awards were voted on by a panel of FieldTurf executives and select industry representatives.

Wilkinson, 36, led the Timbers to a 16-4-10 record in 2009, and captured the USL First Division’s Commissioner’s Cup as the league’s regular-season champion. During the season, Portland recorded a USL First Division-record 24-game unbeaten streak. The club made its second semifinals appearance under Wilkinson last season.

Following the 2009 campaign, Wilkinson was named the USL First Division’s Coach of the Year and became just the third coach in league history to be a two-time recipient of the award. He previously earned the league’s top coaching honor in 2007, the same year he also won his first FieldTurf Coach of the Year award.

Entering his fourth season as the Timbers head coach and general manager in 2010, Wilkinson has an overall record of 37-22-29.

2009 FieldTurf Soccer Awards:
Major League Soccer Coach of the Year – Jason Kreis, Real Salt Lake
USL First Division Coach of the Year – Gavin Wilkinson, Portland Timbers
USL Second Division Coach of the Year – Leigh Cowlishaw, Richmond Kickers
USL W-League Coach of the Year – Craig Smith, Ottawa Fury
NCAA Division 1 Coach of the Year (Men’s) – George Gelnovatch, University of Virginia
NCAA Division 1 Coach of the Year (Women’s) – Paul Ratcliffe, Stanford University

Major League Soccer Team of the Year – Seattle Sounders
United Soccer Leagues Team of the Year – Montreal Impact
NCAA Team of the Year – Akron University (Men’s)
National High School Team of the Year (Boy’s) - St. Thomas Aquinas HS (Overland Park, KS)
National High School Team of the Year (Girl’s) – LaSalle Academy (Providence, RI)