Timbers Soccer Ball at 2011 SuperDraft
(Getty Images)

Timbers' Mike Golub named MLS Executive of the Year; Portland receives several executive honors

PORTLAND, Ore. — Major League Soccer today announced that Portland Timbers Chief Operating Officer (COO) Mike Golub has been named the Doug Hamilton Executive of the Year for 2011. With the announcement of the league’s year-end awards that recognize individuals and clubs for outstanding contributions off the playing field this past season, the Timbers received a total of six individual and team honors, while several members of the team’s ticket sales staff were recognized also.

After a successful first season in MLS, Golub led a list of five Timbers executives recognized by the league. With more than 25 years of experience in professional sports management, Golub became the COO of the Timbers in March 2010, overseeing all business operations of the club during its successful transition to Major League Soccer.

Under Golub’s guidance, the Timbers sold out all 17 league games during their inaugural year and sold out of season tickets well before the season began. Currently, the team has a Season Ticket Waiting List numbering well over 5,000 fans and recently announced that season tickets are sold out for the 2012 season, despite increasing the number available for the club’s second MLS season to 14,750.

Timbers Sr. Vice President of Business Development/Broadcasting Ryan Brach was named the MLS Corporate Partnerships Executive of the Year, Vice President of Ticket Sales Joe Cote was named the MLS Ticketing Executive of the Year, Vice President of Business Operations & Marketing Cory Dolich was named the MLS Marketing Executive of the Year and Timbers Director of Digital Media Brian Costello was the recipient of Local Digital Editor of the Year for 2011.

On the team side, the Timbers were awarded Operations Staff of the Year.

The Timbers ticket sales department and several of its sales executives were recognized also for their success in 2011, including Dan Gartner, Katie Hoffner, Pat Rice, Eddie Stamm, Sara Wiggins, Matt Wilhelmsen and Dan Zusman

The complete list of 2011 Club and Executive Award winners is below.

2011 MLS Club and Executive Award Winners:
Doug Hamilton Executive of the Year – Mike Golub, Portland Timbers
Corporate Partnership Executive of the Year – Ryan Brach, Portland Timbers
Corporate Partnership Team of the Year – Seattle Sounders FC
Partnership Marketing Team of the Year – Seattle Sounders FC 
Marketing Executive of the Year – Cory Dolich, Portland Timbers
Ticketing Executive of the Year – Joe Cote, Portland Timbers
Ticket Sales Team of the Year – Seattle Sounders FC
Local Digital Editor of the Year – Brian Costello, Portland Timbers
Public Relations Team of the Year – Sporting Kansas City   
Merchandiser of the Year – Philadelphia Union/Angelo’s Soccer Corner
Community Relations Department of the Year presented by MLS W.O.R.K.S. – Toronto FC
Operations Staff of the Year – Portland Timbers
Team Administrator of the Year presented by ATP Event Experts – Francisco Tobar, D.C. United 
Athletic Training Staff of the Year presented by Mueller Sports Medicine – Houston Dynamo
Equipment Manager of the Year – Rusty Wummel, Columbus Crew