Timbers U-23s forward Mark Sherrod VIC
Leah Parr

Timbers U-23s' Sherrod named PDL Player of the Week

PORTLAND, Ore. – United Soccer Leagues today announced that Portland Timbers U-23s forward Mark Sherrod has been named the Premier Development League Player of the Week for the third week of the season. Sherrod becomes the first Timbers U-23s player to earn PDL Player of the Week honors in 2012.

Sherrod, 21, recorded a hat trick on May 19 to lead the Timbers U-23s to a 4-1 win over Victoria Highlanders FC. He scored two of his three goals in the second half to help Portland open the season with a second straight win.

A standout at the University of Memphis, Sherrod first struck against Highlanders FC two minutes from halftime on a solo effort that saw him pick up possession at midfield before driving into the penalty area and finishing. He added a second on the hour-mark, latching onto a through ball at the top of the penalty area before slotting home. Sherrod completed his hat trick in the 71st minute, heading one in at the back post on a Cam Vickers cross from the right corner.

A native of Knoxville, Tenn., Sherrod leads the Timbers U-23s with five goals through his first three matches of the season. He became just the fourth player in Timbers U-23s history to record a hat trick, joining Ryan Youngblood, Erik Hurtado and Brent Richards.

Along with Sherrod’s second consecutive inclusion in the PDL Team of the Week, Portland midfielder Andrew Ribeiro and defender Marc Tonkel were named honorable mention for Week 3.

PDL Team of the Week: Week 3
GK John McCarthy - Ocean City
DF Greg Cochrane – Reading
DF James Aldred – IMG Bradenton
DF Dom Papa – Tucson
MF Tom McReady – Carolina
MF Matt Friesen – Kitsap
MF Frankie Lopez – Ventura County
MF Kevin Bick – Orange County
FW Mark Sherrod – Portland (Player of the Week)
FW Kris Trypak – Austin
FW Carlos Araujo – Ocala

Honorable Mention – Austin: Zack Pope, Kekuta Manneh; Boston: Jordan Bar; Brooklyn: Stefan Dimitrov; Carolina: Sebastian Ibeagha, Hakan Ilhan; CFC: Matt Sangeloty; Des Moines: Luis Piffer, Brent Kallman; FC London: Jordan Ayris, Tom Owens; Fredericksburg: Tishan Hanley; IMG Bradenton: Milovan Kapor, Patrick Toh; Kansas City: Nick McDonald. Kitsap: Ben Truax; Laredo: Ernesto Serrato; Michigan: Tom Catalano; North Sound: Abdu Aman; Ocean City: Max Hamilton, Terry Gibbs; Orange County: Andrew Reimer, Adrian Avila; Portland: Andrew Ribeiro, Marc Tonkel; Reading: Ryan Finley; Real Maryland: Bush Yormie; Southern West Virginia: Erik Mozzo; Tucson: Donny Toia; Ventura County: Rodrigo Lopez; Vermont: Fabian Barancoski; Virginia Beach: Charles Nweke; VSI Tampa: Sebastian Thuriere, Max Rockwell; Worcester: Alencar Junior