Portland Timbers Darlington Nagbe named 2013 MLS Xbox Individual Fair Play Award winner

PORTLAND, Ore. – Major League Soccer today announced that Portland Timbers midfielder/forward Darlington Nagbe is the recipient of the 2013 Xbox Individual Fair Play Award. 

The Fair Play Award is selected by MLS based on objective criteria such as fouls committed, cards received, games and minutes played, as well as subjective evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior.

Nagbe, 23, established career-highs in games played (34), minutes played (2,848), goals (9) and assists (4) during the 2013 regular season. He was one of the club’s leading goal-scorers during the campaign and became the first Timbers MLS player to start all 34 games of a regular season. Nagbe, who committed only eight fouls and received one yellow card during the regular season, was listed at No. 1 on MLSSoccer.com's annual “24 Under 24” as the best young player in the league. Over the course of the season, Nagbe was selected to the MLSsoccer.com Team of the Week five times and had two goals voted MLS Goal of the Week.

After three seasons in MLS, Nagbe is the Timbers MLS career leader in both games played (95) and goals scored (17). 

Other finalists for the 2013 Xbox Individual Fair Play Award included Chicago Fire defender Jalil Anibaba and Real Salt Lake center back Nat Borchers. MLS also announced Monday the winners of the Xbox Team Fair Play Award and AT&T Rookie of the Year. 

Xbox Fair Play Award - Individual Winners
2013: Darlington Nagbe – Portland Timbers

2012: Logan Pause – Chicago Fire
2011: Sébastien Le Toux – Philadelphia Union
2010: Sébastien Le Toux – Philadelphia Union
2009: Steve Ralston – New England Revolution
2008: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2007: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution 
2006: Chris Klein – Real Salt Lake
2005: Ronald Cerritos – San Jose Earthquakes 
2004: Eddie Pope – Metro Stars
2003: Brian McBride – Columbus Crew 
2002: Mark Chung – Colorado Rapids 
2001: Alex Pineda Chacon – Miami Fusion 
2000: Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny 
1999: Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny 
1998: Thomas Dooley – Columbus Crew 
1997: Mark Chung – Kansas City Wizards

MLS Awards Announcement Schedule*
Nov. 26: Defender of the Year, MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year, Referee/Assistant Referee of the Year
Dec. 2: Coach of the Year, Comeback Player of the Year
Dec. 3: 2013 MLS Best XI
Dec. 4: Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year, Newcomer of the Year
Dec. 5: AT&T Goal of the Year, Save of the Year, Volkswagen MLS Most Valuable Player
* - Schedule subject to change