Thorns FC's Christine Sinclair named Canadian Player of the Year

PORTLAND, Ore. — Canada Soccer announced today that Portland Thorns FC forward Christine Sinclair is the female selection for the 2013 BMO Canadian Player of the Year award. The Thorns captain was honored in a vote shared by Canadian media (50%) and Canadian coaches and clubs (50%).

Sinclair of Burnaby, BC, is one of two winners of the 2013 BMO Canadian Players of the Year award. Sinclair shares the 2013 award with Portland Timbers captain Will Johnson.

In 2013, Sinclair led the Thorns to the National Women’s Soccer League championship, in fact bookending the season with both the team’s first and final goals of the championship-winning campaign. As one of the Thorns’ leading scorers, she was named the club’s 2013 MVP and named to the NWSL Best XI Second Team. Sinclair scored eight goals and record two assists in 20 regular-season matches.

Sinclair has now won professional championships in each of her three past league seasons: 2010 with FC Gold Pride, 2011 with Western New York Flash, and 2013 with Portland.

At the international level, Sinclair participated in her 14th season with Canada, most recently making her 200th career appearance on Dec. 12 against Scotland (above).  She earned player-of-the-match honors in October in a 3-0 win over Korea Republic.

Also in 2013, Sinclair was again a finalist for the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year award. She was also honored on Canada’s Walk of Fame.

Sinclair is now an 11-time winner of the Canadian Players of the Year award. Runners up included Diana Matheson (second), Erin McLeod (third) and Desiree Scott (fourth). The list of previous award winners is identified below.

“BMO is proud to recognize players such as Christine Sinclair, whose impact on the landscape of Canadian soccer has proven to be outstanding and inspirational," said Justine Fedak, Senior Vice President, Brand Advertising, Sponsorships & Merchandising, BMO Financial Group. "The BMO Canadian Players of the Year Award serves to highlight exemplary performance at a professional level, attracting young athletes to the sport at the grassroots level. We congratulate Christine on her tremendous accomplishment."

Also announced this week, Liam Stanley was selected Canadian Para Soccer Player of the Year, Marco Carducci and Sura Yekka were announced as Canadian U-17 Players of the Year, and Dylan Carreiro and Kadeisha Buchanan were announced Canadian U-20 Players of the Year.

BMO Canadian Players of the Year
2013 – Will Johnson & Christine Sinclair
2012 – Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair
2011 – Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2010 – Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair

2009 - Simeon Jackson & Christine Sinclair

2008 – Julian de Guzman & Christine Sinclair

2007 – Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair

2006 – Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair

2005 – Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2004 – Paul Stalteri & Christine Sinclair
2003 – Pat Onstad & Charmaine Hooper
2002 – Jason deVos & Charmaine Hooper
2001 – Paul Stalteri & Andrea Neil
2000 – Craig Forrest & Christine Sinclair
1999 – Jim Brennan & Geraldine Donnelly
1998 - Tomasz Radzinski & Silvana Burtini
1997 – Mark Watson & Janine Helland
1996 - Paul Peschisolido & Geraldine Donnelly

1995 - Alex Bunbury & Charmaine Hooper

1994 - Craig Forrest & Charmaine Hooper

1993 - Alex Bunbury