Nike Ball, USWNT vs. Canada

Thorns FC announce list of protected players for NWSL Expansion Draft

PORTLAND, Ore. – land Thorns FC today announced its list of protected and unprotected players ahead of the National Women’s Soccer League Expansion Draft on Friday, Jan. 10, at 8 a.m. (Pacific). Beginning play in 2014 as the ninth club to join the NWSL, the Houston Dash will be able to select up to 10 players from the expansion draft list of unprotected players.

Due to Portland earning a spot in the NWSL Playoffs last season, the club was allowed to protect nine players in the Expansion Draft. Non-playoff teams were able to protect 10 players. Any club with more than two U.S. Women’s National Team allocated players (which includes Portland) must leave at least one U.S. allocated player unprotected. Houston will be allowed to select no more than two U.S. Women’s National Team allocated players, one Canadian allocated player and one Mexican allocated player during the Expansion Draft. The Dash can select no more than two players from a single team except if they select a U.S. allocated player, in which case they may not take any additional players from that club.

Below is the list of Portland’s protected and unprotected players:

Jackie Acevedo (MEX)
Amber Brooks
Tobin Heath (USA)
Allie Long
Nikki Marshall
Alex Morgan (USA)
Rebecca Moros
Christine Sinclair (CAN)
Kathryn Williamson

Rachel Buehler (USA)
Becky Edwards
Tina Ellertson
Angie Kerr
Karina LeBlanc (CAN)
Jessica McDonald
Emilee O’Neil
Casey Ramirez
Meleana Shim
Nikki Washington
Tiffany Weimer
Michele Weissenhofer (2013 Hold-over rights)
Courtney Wetzel
Discovery Player No. 1
Discovery Player No. 2
Discovery Player No. 3
Discovery Player No. 4