Lindsey Horan, portrait, 06.29.2017
Craig Mitchelldeyer

Thorns FC midfielder Lindsey Horan named as finalist for U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year

Thorns FC midfielder Lindsey Horan was announced today by U.S. Soccer as one of five nominees for the 2017 U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year award. Along with Horan, this year’s field features midfielders Julie Ertz and Samantha Mewis and forwards Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe.

Horan, 23, in her second season with Thorns FC in 2017, was a 2017 Second XI recipient and one of four Thorns FC players to start all 24 matches, playing 2,125 minutes during the regular season. The Golden, Colo., native tallied four goals, including a pair of game-winners, and two assists, while also registering her first career NWSL playoff assist in Thorns FC’s semifinal win over Orlando. Among midfielders, Horan led the league in duels won (217) and was tied for fifth in tackles won (47) during the regular season. Horan also scored the game-winning goal in the Thorns 1-0 win over the North Carolina Courage in the 2017 NWSL Championship final.

On the U.S. Women's National Team front, Horan scored one goal in 2017's 16-game schedule and her four assists were second on the team.

Voting for the candidates closes on Tuesday, Dec. 12 at 11:59 p.m. ET. The winners will be announced throughout the month of December. 

A new voting process was put in place starting in 2014. Votes will be collected from National Team coaches and staff, WNT players who have earned a cap in 2017, members of the U.S. Soccer Board of Directors, U.S. Soccer’s Athlete Council, National Women’s Soccer League coaches, select college head coaches and select media members. 

Only one of the nominees has won the award before, with Morgan earning the honor in 2012. Ertz (neé Johnston) and Horan have previously received the Young Female Player of the Year award, with Ertz winning in 2012 and Horan in 2013.

The U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year has been awarded since 1985, when midfielder Sharon Remer (known then as Sharon McMurtry) earned the inaugural honor.