Christine Sinclair celebrates, Thorns, 2.21.18
Photo by Craig Mitchelldyer

Thorns FC announce schedule for 2018 NWSL season

PORTLAND, Ore. – The National Women’s Soccer League today unveiled the full 24-game, 2018 regular-season schedule for Portland Thorns FC. Thorns FC kick off the 2018 season with an away match against the North Carolina Courage on Saturday, March 24, at Sahlen’s Stadium in Cary, N.C. Beginning at 12:30 p.m. (Pacific), Portland’s season-opening match will be the featured NWSL Game of the Week on Lifetime.

After playing back-to-back road matches, due to construction currently underway at Providence Park as part of phase one of stadium expansion, Thorns FC’s home opener will take place on Sunday, April 15, against the Orlando Pride at 3 p.m. (Pacific).

Fans interested in purchasing Thorns FC Annual Memberships are encouraged to call the ticket office at (503) 553-5555 or email ticketsales@timbers.com. Additionally, single-game tickets for the Thorns Spring Invitational presented by Tillamook Yogurt March 11-17 at the University of Portland go on sale beginning Friday, Feb. 23, at 10 a.m. (Pacific).

Portland will play 12 home matches and 12 away matches during the six-month season. The nine-team league features a single table and Thorns FC will play each of their eight opponents three times during the season, including two home matches against new NWSL club the Utah Royals, Cascadia-rival Seattle Reign FC, Orlando and Sky Blue FC.

Portland will feature in a total of five national television matches as the NWSL Game of the Week on Lifetime, including three home matches at Providence Park and two road matches. Thorns FC play host to Seattle on May 5, the Pride on May 12 and the Chicago Red Stars on Aug. 18. In addition to Portland’s season-opening match on the road against the Courage, Thorns FC will also feature in a nationally-televised away match against Chicago on June 16.

Notably, this year’s schedule will feature a road doubleheader with the Portland Timbers in Chicago at Toyota Park. Thorns FC’s match against the Red Stars on Saturday, March 31, will be the second game of the doubleheader at 5:15 p.m. (Pacific) after the Timbers take on the Chicago Fire at 3 p.m. (Pacific). 

Schedule Breakdown: 
Home Dates by Day of the Week: 

Wednesday (3), Friday (4), Saturday (3), Sunday (2)

Road Dates by Day of the Week: 
Wednesday (1), Friday (1), Saturday (9), Sunday (1) 

Home Dates by Month: 
April (2), May (4), June (1), July (2), August (2), September (1) 

Road Dates by Month: 
March (2), April (1), May (2), June (3), July (1), August (3)

League Opponents Played Twice at Home:
Orlando Pride, Seattle Reign FC, Sky Blue FC, Utah Royals

League  Opponents Played Twice Away:
Chicago Red Stars, Houston Dash, North Carolina Courage, Washington Spirit

League Opponents Played Once at Home: 
Chicago Red Stars, Houston Dash, North Carolina Courage, Washington Spirit

League Opponents Played Once Away: 
Orlando Pride, Seattle Reign FC, Sky Blue FC, Utah Royals

2018 Portland Thorns FC Schedule (home matches in bold, CAPS)

Date Opponent Kickoff (Pacific)
Sat., March 24 @North Carolina Courage 12:30 p.m.
Sat., March 31 @Chicago Red Stars 5:15 p.m.
Sun., April 15 ORLANDO PRIDE 3 p.m.
Fri., April 20 WASHINGTON SPIRIT 7:30 p.m.
Sat., April 28 @Utah Royals 6 p.m.
Sat., May 5 SEATTLE REIGN FC 12:30 p.m.
Wed., May 9 @Houston Dash 5 p.m.
Sat., May 12 ORLANDO PRIDE 12:30 p.m.
Sat., May 19 @Washington Spirit 4 p.m.
Fri., May 25 UTAH ROYALS 7:30 p.m.
Wed., May 30 NORTH CAROLINA COURAGE 7:30 p.m.
Sat., June 16 @Chicago Red Stars 12:30 p.m.
Fri., June 22 @Houston Dash 5:30 p.m.
Wed., June 27 SKY BLUE FC 7:30 p.m.
Sat., June 30 @Seattle Reign FC 7 p.m.
Fri., July 6 UTAH ROYALS 8 p.m.
Sun., July 15 HOUSTON DASH 8 p.m.
Sat., July 21 @Sky Blue FC 4 p.m.
Sun., Aug. 5 @North Carolina Courage 12:30 p.m.
Sat., Aug. 11 @Orlando Pride 4:30 p.m.
Sat., Aug. 18 CHICAGO RED STARS 12:30 p.m.
Wed., Aug. 22 SKY BLUE FC 8 p.m.
Sat., Aug. 25 @Washington Spirit 4 p.m.
Fri., Sept. 7 SEATTLE REIGN FC 7:30 p.m.
Series: 
Topics: 

Single-Game Seats Available Here

Don’t miss your chance to guarantee the best seats before they’re gone.