Broadcast camera, Timbers vs. Caps, 8.10.19
Photo by Craig Mitchelldyer

Timbers announce broadcast details for 2020 season

PORTLAND, Ore. – The Portland Timbers today unveiled their complete broadcast schedule for the 2020 Major League Soccer season.

Including 13 nationally televised matches, all 34 of the Timbers’ regular-season matches will be broadcast live both on television and radio for a 10th consecutive season in 2020. Once again this season, play-by-play announcer Jake Zivin, color analyst Ross Smith and on-field analyst Nat Borchers will call the action on the television broadcast. The club’s broadcast partners FOX 12 and ROOT SPORTS will air the club’s regional television broadcasts, as they have each season since the Timbers’ inaugural MLS campaign in 2011.

In 2020, FOX 12 will serve as the primary broadcast network with 14 matches on FOX 12 PLUS (KPDX). KFBI in Medford and KEVU in Eugene will continue to televise all games also airing on FOX 12 PLUS. ROOT SPORTS will deliver seven matches across the Northwest region to cable and satellite homes in Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana and Alaska. Additionally, ROOT SPORTS also will re-air completed Timbers matches throughout the season.

FOX 12, Home of the Timbers, will take an immersive approach to producing a regular series of Timbers Insider content. In the days leading up to each match, fans will see these exclusive features aired across a variety of FOX 12’s highly rated newscasts. These segments will collectively replace the former program, “Timbers in 30.” FOX 12 Timbers Insider content will also be viewable at timbers.com.

Portland’s 13 games on national television include broadcasts on ABC, ESPN and FS1.

On the radio side, 750 The Game (KXTG) will serve as the team’s flagship station once again in 2020. Play-by-play announcer Keith Bleyer returns for his ninth season as part of the Timbers broadcast team along with Joe Sleven, who played collegiate soccer at the University of Portland, in his third season on KXTG. Fletcher Johnson returns for his 10th season as host of the pregame, halftime and postgame radio shows. 

In addition to match broadcasts, 750 The Game, which has served as a flagship station of the club for each of its first nine MLS seasons, airs the Timbers’ weekly program, “Talk Timbers,” each Wednesday night from 6-8 p.m. (Pacific). “Talk Timbers” features interviews with coaches, players and club representatives and covers both Timbers and MLS news.

2020 Portland Timbers Schedule (home matches in bold, CAPS)

Date Opponent Kickoff Television
Sunday March 1 MINNESOTA UNITED FC 4:30pm FS1
Sunday, March 8 NASHVILLE SC 4pm ESPN
Sunday, March 15 @New England Revolution 10:30am ROOT SPORTS
Sunday, March 22 @Los Angeles FC 6pm FS1
Saturday, March 28 PHILADELPHIA UNION 7:30pm FOX 12 PLUS
Saturday, April 4 @Houston Dynamo 3pm ROOT SPORTS
Saturday, April 11 FC DALLAS 7:30pm FOX 12 PLUS
Sunday, April 19 @Atlanta United FC 3:30pm FS1
Saturday, April 25 VANCOUVER WHITECAPS FC 7pm FOX 12 PLUS
Saturday, May 2 LA GALAXY 12:30pm ABC
Saturday, May 9 @Real Salt Lake 6pm FOX 12 PLUS
Sunday, May 17 SEATTLE SOUNDERS FC 2pm FS1
Saturday, May 23 @Minnesota United FC 5pm ROOT SPORTS
Wednesday, May 27 @Chicago Fire FC 5pm FOX 12 PLUS
Saturday, May 30 @Orlando City SC 4:30pm ROOTSPORTS
Saturday, June 13 SPORTING KANSAS CITY 2pm ESPN
Wednesday, June 17 COLORADO RAPIDS 7:30pm FOX 12 PLUS
Sunday, June 21 @New York Red Bulls 2pm FS1
Sunday, June 28 @Sporting Kansas City 3:30pm FS1
Wednesday, July 1 COLUMBUS CREW SC 7:30pm ROOT SPORTS
Sunday, July 5 @Nashville FC 4pm FOX 12 PLUS
Saturday, July 11 @Colorado Rapids 6pm FOX 12 PLUS
Saturday, July 18 SAN JOSE EARTHQUAKES 7:30pm FOX 12 PLUS
Saturday, July 25 Houston Dynamo 7:30pm ROOT SPORTS
Sunday, Aug. 2 @LA Galaxy 7pm FS1
Saturday, Aug. 8 FC CINCINNATI 7:30pm FOX 12 PLUS
Sunday, Aug. 16 INTER MIAMI CF 6pm FS1
Saturday, Aug. 22 @Seattle Sounders FC 1pm ESPN
Sunday, Aug. 30 LOS ANGELES FC 6pm FS1
Saturday, Sept. 5 @FC Dallas 5:30pm FOX 12 PLUS
Saturday, Sept. 12 @San Jose Earthquakes 7pm FOX 12 PLUS
Saturday, Sept. 19 TORONTO FC 6pm FOX 12 PLUS
Saturday, Sept. 26 REAL SALT LAKE 7:30pm FOX 12 PLUS
Sunday, Oct. 4 @Vancouver Whitecaps FC 1:30pm ROOT SPORTS

All games Pacific Time

Series: 
Topics: