2022_ChallengeCupTitle-16x9_v1

PORTLAND, Ore. – The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) today announced the schedule, groups and tournament rules and regulations for the 2022 NWSL Challenge Cup. Portland Thorns FC will open play with a road match against OL Reign on Friday, March 18, at Lumen Field; kickoff is set for 7 p.m. (Pacific). Thorns FC will play their first home game of the tournament on Wednesday, March 30, against expansion side Angel City FC at 7 p.m. (Pacific). 

Following their opening match against OL Reign, Thorns FC travel to square off against San Diego Wave FC on Saturday, March 26 at 7 p.m. (Pacific). Portland kicks off a stretch of three straight home games with its match against Angel City followed by a home contest against OL Reign on Saturday, April 2 (7 p.m. PT) and Sunday, April 17 (4 p.m. PT) against San Diego. Thorns FC conclude group play on Sunday, April 24, with their first road match against Angel City. Tickets for group-play matches are included in Annual Memberships. Individual tickets will go on sale at a later time. 

The tournament will feature three regional groups of four teams, playing double round-robin matches. The top team from each group will advance to the semifinals on Wednesday, May 4, with the championship match set for Saturday, May 7. Full broadcast details for the tournament will be released at a later date.

For the full 2022 NWSL Challenge Cup rules and regulations that differ from NWSL’s regular season policies and procedures, click here.

2022_ChallengeCupSchedule-1x1_v2
Portland Thorns FC 2022 NWSL Challenge Cup Schedule
Date
Opponent
Kickoff (PT)
Fri., Mar. 18
@OL Reign
7pm
Sat., Mar. 26
@San Diego Wave FC
7pm
Wed., Mar. 30
ANGEL CITY FC
7pm
Sat., Apr. 2
OL REIGN
7pm
Sun., Apr. 17
SAN DIEGO WAVE FC
4pm
Sun. Apr. 24
@Angel City FC
5pm