Thorns FC

Thorns FC's Angela Salem, Emily Menges, Bella Bixby and Mark Parsons among nominees for 2021 NWSL Awards

20210405 nwsl ball

CHICAGO – The National Women's Soccer League announced today the list of 2021 NWSL Awards featuring the Most Valuable Player presented by Budweiser, Defender of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year, Rookie of the Year presented by Ally and Coach of the Year. The 2021 NWSL Awards are voted upon in two rounds with fans having the opportunity to participate in the final round of the voting process.

In the preliminary round of voting, players, owners, general managers, coaches, and the media voted on the individual awards to determine the final nominees. The preliminary round used a weighted scale, broken down by players (50%), owners/GMs/coaches (25%) and media (25%). The nominees for each of those 2021 NWSL Awards are:

Most Valuable Player, presented by Budweiser: Jessica Fishlock (OL Reign), Ashley Hatch (Washington Spirit), Mallory Pugh (Chicago Red Stars), Margaret Purce (NJ/NY Gotham FC),

Defender of the Year: Alana Cook (OL Reign), Caprice Dydasco (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Sarah Gorden (Chicago Red Stars), , Carson Pickett (North Carolina Courage)

Goalkeeper of the Year: , Aubrey Bledsoe (Washington Spirit), Kailen Sheridan (NJ/NY Gotham FC)

Rookie of the Year, presented by Ally: Emily Fox (Racing Louisville FC), Victoria Pickett (Kansas City Current), Trinity Rodman (Washington Spirit)

Coach of the Year: Laura Harvey (OL Reign), Scott Parkinson (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Mark Parsons (Portland Thorns FC)

Additional awards to be voted on in the final round include:

Best XI, presented by Mastercard, honoring a first and second team representing the top 22 players in the league.

Fans wishing to vote on the individual award winners, Best XI, and Best XI Second Team can access the voting ballot here. All votes must be submitted by Tuesday, November 9 at 8:59 p.m. PT. The final round of voting uses a weighted scale of players (50%), owners/GMs/coaches (20%), media (20%) and fans (10%).

These award winners will be announced in the days surrounding the NWSL Championship game, which is set to kick off Saturday, November 20 at 12 p.m. ET at Lynn Family Stadium in Louisville, Kentucky. The contest will air live on CBS Television Network and stream live internationally on the NWSL’s Twitch channel.

In addition to the awards listed above, the winner of the inaugural Nationwide Community Impact Award will be announced and honored at halftime of the 2021 NWSL Championship match. For more details on the Nationwide Community Impact Award, please click here. The league will also select and announce the Championship MVP presented by Budweiser during the postgame, on-field presentation.