Academy midfielder Sawyer Jura named to US U-17 roster

Sawyer Jura Timbers Academy 2022 media day

Gonzalo Segares, head coach of the U.S. Under-17 Men's Youth National Team, has announced the 20-player roster that will represent the USA at the 2022 Concacaf Under-17 Championship. Players must have been born on or after Jan. 1, 2006 to be considered for the team.

Taking place from Feb. 11-26 in Guatemala, the USA will be aiming for a record 18th FIFA U-17 World Cup qualification as four teams will book their tickets to the 2023 tournament in Peru. The roster includes players from 16 clubs, 12 of which come from Major League Soccer and the rest from abroad in Spain, England and Germany. Goalkeeper Diego Kochen and midfielder Adrian Gil from Spanish powerhouse FC Barcelona, as well as forward Keyrol Figueroa from English giant Liverpool, are all part of the squad.

The U.S. has been drawn into Group F and will kick off the competition against Barbados on Saturday, Feb. 11, followed by a match against Trinidad and Tobago on Monday, Feb. 13, and a regional rivalry match against Canada on Wednesday, Feb. 15. All three of the USA’s group stage matches will be held at Estadio Pensativo in Antigua, Guatemala and will start at 8 p.m. ET.  The USA is looking to win its fourth Concacaf U-17 title after taking home its last championship in 2011. The top three finishers in the four groups will advance to the Round of 16 and join the four teams already qualified for the knockout round. The four semifinalists will then book their tickets to the FIFA U-17 World Cup. All knockout rounds will be held at Estadio Nacional Doroteo Guamuch Flores in Guatemala City.


GOALKEEPERS (2): Adam Beaudry (Colorado Rapids; Castle Pines, Colo.), Diego Kochen (FC Barcelona/ESP; Miramar, Fla.)

DEFENDERS (6): Christian Diaz (LAFC; San Bernardino, Calif.), Tyler Hall (Inter Miami CF; Miramar, Fla.), Aidan Harangi (Eintracht Frankfurt/GER; Zwingenberg, Germany), Stuart Hawkins (Seattle Sounders FC; Fox Island, Wash.), Sawyer Jura (Portland Timbers; Bend, Ore.), Oscar Verhoeven (San Jose Earthquakes; Pleasant Hill, Calif.)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Christopher Aquino (Seattle Sounders FC; Pasco, Wash.), Adrian Gill (FC Barcelona/ESP; Denver, Colo.), Taha Habroune (Columbus Crew; Columbus, Ohio), Cruz Medina (San Jose Earthquakes; San Francisco, Calif.), Edwyn Mendoza (San Jose Earthquakes; San Francisco, Calif.), Paulo Rudisill (LA Galaxy; Irvine, Calif.), Pedro Soma (UE Cornella/ESP; Coconut Creek, Fla.)

FORWARDS (5): Micah Burton (Austin FC; Mounds View, Minn.), Brian Carmona (Charlotte FC; Concord, N.C.), Keyrol Figueroa (Liverpool/ENG; Warrington, U.K.), Ezekiel Soto (Houston Dynamo FC; Menifee, Calif.) David Vasquez (Philadelphia Union; Los Angeles, Calif.)