Timbers finish preseason schedule with 1-1 draw

PORTLAND, Ore. - Defender Cameron Knowles scored a goal in the second half to help the Portland Timbers record a 1-1 draw against the University of Portland Pilots in preseason action Friday at the Clive Charles Soccer Complex.
It was the Timbers' final test before they begin the 2008 USL First Division season on April 17 against the Puerto Rico Islanders at PGE Park.
Knowles gave the Timbers the lead in the 49th minute, hammering home a loose ball along the edge of the six-yard box. University of Portland alum Andrew Gregor started the play with a corner kick into the box that found forward Chris Brown 15 yards out. Brown's shot was stopped by Pilots goalkeeper Austin Guerrero, but the ball trickled back into play allowing Knowles finish his first preseason goal.
The Pilots' Logan Emory slotted home the late equalizer in the 88th minute. Stealing a pass from Portland defenders along the top of the box, Emory skipped a 20-yard blast off the ground and into the top right corner of the frame to end the game at 1-1.
Led by Brown, a former Pilot, with six shots on the night, the Timbers out shot the Pilots 16-8. Timbers goalkeeper Ray Burse recorded two saves, including a leaping stop that deflected a shot off the crossbar in the 76th minute.
All three University of Portland alumni on the Timbers 2008 roster – Gregor, Brown and second-half sub Miguel Guante - saw action against their alma matter Friday.
Tickets for the Timbers season opener against Puerto Rico start at $11 and are available through the PGE Park box office, area Ticketmaster outlets, online at www.ticketmaster.com or by phone at (503) 224-4400. Kickoff is set for 7 p.m.
Notes: The Timbers backline featured guest player Leonard Griffin ... six cards were issued in Friday's contest, five yellow and one red ... attendance was 553.
POR: GK Burse, D Griffin, D J. Thompson, D Knowles, D S. Thompson, M Higgins, M Dombrowski (Poltl, 45), M Gregor, M Olum (Lara, 74), F Brown, F Bagley (Guante, 66)
UP: GK Guerrero (Rhine), D Chrostek, D Jurney, D Knapp, D Kraus (Emory), M van Schaik, M Wright, M Warner, M Lopez, F Hosseinmardi (Babcock), F Bryan Irwin