Facundo Parra, Independiente

Independiente Announces Travel Roster for Tuesday Exhibition Against Timbers

PORTLAND, Ore.– The Portland Timbers today announced the 25-man travel roster for accomplished Argentine side Club Atlético Independiente in advance of the international exhibition match between the two clubs Tuesday at JELD-WEN Field at 8 p.m.

Led by head coach Antonio Mohamed, the travel roster for Independiente features forwards Facundo Parra (above) and Patricio Rodríguez, two of the club’s leading goal scorers from the 2010 Clausura campaign; Parra ranked among the top scorers in Argentina’s Primera Division with seven goals in 18 games. Mohamed’s roster also includes several players who led Independiente to the 2010 Copa Sudamericana title, including midfielders Hernán Fredes and Nicolás Cabrera, defender Eduardo Tuzzio and recent Argentina National Team call-up Julián Velázquez.

The match can be heard live on 750 AM The Game and in Spanish on La Pantera 940 AM. A live video webcast in both English and Spanish will also be available at www.portlandtimbers.com.

The winner of 14 first division championships, Independiente is one of the most successful clubs in Argentina and ranks third behind notable clubs Boca Juniors and River Plate in the number of total domestic titles won. The club won the 2010 Copa Sudamericana, one of the top club tournaments in South America, claiming its 16th international championship. Its total number of international titles rivals the accomplishments of some of the top clubs in the world, including Italy’s AC Milan, Boca Juniors and Spain’s Real Madrid.

Tuesday’s match continues a preseason tour for Independiente as the club prepares for the upcoming 2011 Apertura season. Limited seats remain for the exhibition and tickets are available for purchase through the JELD-WEN Field box office or Ticketmaster at www.ticketmaster.com or by calling (800) 745-3000.

Club Atlético Independiente Travel Roster
Goalkeeper (3): Fabián Assmann, Adrián Gabbarini, Hilario Navarro
Defenders (7):   Adrián Argachá, Cristhian Báez, Ignacio Barcia, Eduardo Tuzzio,Gabriel Vallés, Julián Velázquez, Maximiliano Velázquez
Midfielders (9): Roberto Battión, Nicolás Cabrera, Ivan Castillo, Nicolás Delmonte, Osmar Ferreyra, Hernán Fredes, Fernando Godoy, Cristian Pellerano, Iván Pérez
Forwards (6): Gino Clara, Matías Defederico, Brian Nieva, Leonel Núñez, Facundo Parra, Patricio Rodríguez