PTFC: From the Archives #Statman edition | Thorns capture glory in inaugural 2013 season

Thorns championship photo, 2013 NWSL Championship, 8.31.13

On Aug. 31, 2013, Portland Thorns FC won the inaugural NWSL Championship, defeating the host Western New York Flash, 2-0, in Rochester. Tune in to FOX 12 Oregon KPTV on March 28, 2020 at 3pm to see a special rebroadcast of this historic match and watch online at, presented by Providence Health & Services. Here are five numbers to know ahead of the game in the latest PTFC: From the Archives #Statman Edition. 

2 The Most Valuable Player of the championship game was midfielder Tobin Heath, who scored the match-winner. Heath scored twice in the 2013 postseason with goals in both the semifinal and final. 

90+ Captain Christine Sinclair capped the win when she delivered a breakaway goal minutes before the final whistle. Sinclair's goal is the only goal in second half stoppage time in NWSL Championship history. 

610 Western New York's starting lineup featured the trio of Sam Kerr, Carli Lloyd, and Abby Wambach. The three players have combined to score 610 goals in professional and international competition but were unable to find the back of the net in the final. 

7 Goalkeeper Karina LeBlanc delivered the shutout, making seven saves in the process. The match was the final game LeBlanc played for the club. 

33 Portland played the final 33 minutes with just ten players after Kat Williamson received her second yellow card of the match. The sending off was the only red card that the Thorns received in the entire 2013 season.